The Society of Diplomates

In 1946, Harrisburg area physicians established an organization with the following goals:

  • Improve the quality of medical services.
  • Promote the mutual interests of Board-certified physicians in the area.
  • Become better acquainted with fellow members.
These charter members established that "a formal dinner meeting will be held annually, at which time the membership will be addressed by a speaker of outstanding reputation". For over seventy-five years, medical professionals from the Harrisburg area have come together for an evening of fellowship and learning. Membership is open to any board-certified physician in Central Pennsylvania, and new members are always welcome. To apply as a new member, please click the "Member Application" button at the top of this site.

Board of Directors

President: Dean Brockmole, MD Tristan Radiology Specialists
President Elect: Matthew Maki, MD Riverside Anesthesia Associates
Immediate Past President: J. Bret Delone, MD FACS Geisinger Holy Spirit
Past President: Nicholas A. DeAntonio, DO Riverside Anesthesia Associates
Outgoing President: Andrew J. Richards, MD UPMC Pinnacle Colon & Rectal Surgery

Recent Event

75th Annual Dinner Meeting

  • Date: Friday, February 7th, 2020
  • Time: Cocktails @ 6PM | Dinner & Program @ 7:30PM
  • Place: Colonial Golf & Tennis Club
  • Address: 4901 Linglestown Rd., Harrisburg, PA 17110
  • Price: Registration for the annual event has closed.  Please send an email to

Guest Speaker: James R. Brockmole, Ph.D.

  • “The Magic of the Mind:  Illusion, Misdirection, and Deception in Our Everyday Lives.”

    Dr, Brockmole is a Professor of Psychology and Associate Dean for the Social Sciences and Research at the University of Notre Dame.

  • Click here for previous guest speakers